Our first virtual members’ meeting of 2021 will take place on January 19th from 12:00pm to 4:00pm Eastern. I am pleased to confirm that we will be joined by The Honourable Erin O’Toole, Leader of the Official Opposition and Leader of the Conservative Party of Canada.  

Breakout Sessions

We are planning four, 50-minute simultaneous breakout sessions during the second hour of the meeting. The topics of three of the breakout sessions align with the main building blocks of a competitive economy as identified in our recent report, “Powering a Strong Recovery”. They are: 

  • People: enhancing skills and human capital 
  • Capital: attracting and enabling business investment
  • Ideas: unlocking Canada’s innovation potential

The fourth session will reflect our ongoing work on energy, resources and climate policy, with a focus on how to stimulate low-GHG technologies. The goal of each breakout will be to identify key recommendations for the 2021 federal budget.

During the registration process you will be asked to rank the four breakout topics in order of preference, beginning with your top choice. We will do our best to accommodate your choice.

When it’s time for the breakouts to begin, the meeting host will move you into one of four virtual breakout “rooms”. When the breakout ends, you will be moved back to the plenary.

2021 New Year Members’ Meeting 

Date: Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Time: 12:00pm – 4:00pm EST

12:00 pm EasternIntroductory remarks by Chair Don Lindsay, followed by Council business including election of Directors 
12:05 pm President’s Report by Goldy Hyder 
12:30 pmDiscussion of Council priorities 
1:00 pm Breakout sessions to discuss recommendations for Budget 2021
People: enhancing skills and human capital
Capital: attracting and enabling business investment
Ideas: unlocking Canada’s innovation potential
Energy and climate change: stimulating low-GHG technologies 
1:50 pmReports back from breakouts 
2:15 pmCEO roundtable on business conditions and the outlook for 2021 
3:15 pmChair introduces The Honourable Erin O’Toole 
3:20 pmRemarks by Erin O’Toole 
3:30 pmQ&A with Erin O’Toole 
3:55 pmGoldy Hyder thanks Erin O’Toole and delivers closing remarks  
4:00 pmMeeting concludes 


Registration form not loading? Click here to open in new window.