The Business Council of Canada joins with Albertans and countless other Canadians in mourning the passing of its former Chair, Rick George.

“Rick was a proud Canadian and a visionary business leader,” said The Honourable John Manley, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Business Council. “We owe him a huge debt of gratitude for his contributions both to the energy sector and the wider community. Rick built Suncor into the oil sands giant that it is today, an enterprise that provides employment to thousands of Canadians and supports many other Canadian businesses and entrepreneurs.   His enlightened leadership and thoughtful engagement with governments, Indigenous communities, environmental groups and other stakeholders demonstrated how Canada’s enormous energy potential can be developed in an environmentally responsible manner.”

“Rick was a true pioneer in the best sense of the word, and was enormously respected throughout the Canadian business community,” added Linda Hasenfratz, Chair of the Business Council.  “My colleagues and I join with many others across the country in extending our sincere condolences to his family and friends.”

The Business Council of Canada brings business leaders together to shape public policy in the interests of a stronger Canada and a better world. Founded in 1976, the Business Council is a non-profit, non-partisan organization composed of the chief executives of Canada’s leading enterprises, representing companies from every region and sector of the economy. Our 150 member companies employ 1.7 million Canadians, account for more than half the value of the Toronto Stock Exchange, contribute the largest share of federal corporate taxes, and are responsible for most of Canada’s exports, corporate philanthropy, and private-sector investments in research and development. Through supply chain partnerships, service contracts and mentoring programs, Business Council members support many hundreds of thousands of small businesses and entrepreneurs in communities of all sizes across Canada.